An Open Letter to the President of the United States – Barak Hussein Obama

A Letter to the President of the United States of America

Barak Hussein Obama   

January 22, 2015

Mr. President let me open this letter to you by saying that I was not impressed by your State of the Union Address delivered on Tuesday January 20, 2015.

Your speech writers, or you yourself sir, lost me when you imparted the anecdotal story of a letter  written to you by an individual, sharing how their family had overcome economic hardship during the past six years of your administration. I did not relate to Rebekah and Ben’s story, because Mr. President my family has not come out of the tunnel into the light yet.

If your idea of a new foundation is, according to you sir: more government regulations and “programs”; more government spending of money that you should understand simply does not exist; more debt to cover said programs; along with more new laws that will ultimately restrict mine and my families freedoms, then –  I’d rather you term as president end sooner rather than later.

“Middle class economics [versus trickledown economics]”, “a growing economy”, a “bold new plan” – surely you yourself have heard all of this rhetoric before your own SOTU speech. I can assure that I have, as I am a 51 year old man.

How about speaking honestly about our countries ever growing “welfare state”, or the actual biggest threat to our country of “Islamic radicalism”, or the perceived “black grievance industry” – the phrase coined by tea party conservatives that you cannot in good conscience ignore – this produced from “black on black” crime so prevalent in Chicago, Illinois, that you somehow never address in public. Speak to this sir. Speak about honest “tax reform”, or even “campaign contribution” reform legislation now, before the 2016 election season. You make the ability to “veto” a bill somehow seem like an immature childish act resembling “I’m taking my ball home – I don’t wanna play anymore”.

As President of the United States you are of course more free than I –  to determine what you deem of the utmost importance to the well-being of our republic, considering that you are privy to much more information and guidance concerning matters that I am unaware of. But in general I would feel veracious in stating that you, as well as many, many of our “elected” officials, are somehow comfortable under estimating my intelligence. I do not trust your leadership.

In closing it is important to me that you know that I am a black man. You sir I would consider “mixed”, the same as my four children that I sired with my British wife (God rest her soul). In 2008 I voted for you sir, but in 2012 I voted for Gary Johnson (former Governor of New Mexico). I speak eloquently to any friend, family member, acquaintance, potential associate, and stranger on the street of my disappointment in your presidency. Your “legacy” as the “First Black President”, and as you might have imagine it, is not assured.

Faithfully

Michael Lockett

Leave a Reply

